RSS Feed

A Modernist Meal

A few weeks ago, my dad and I went to a special event where we got to hear Nathan Myhrvold speak about his AMAZING new cookbook, Modernist Cuisine at Home, which isn’t really your typical family dinner cookbook. It has pictures of ovens cut in half, and even a recipe for striped omelets with french scrambled eggs! (I looked at the recipe and it is very complicated) And if you don’t have the book, they also have a website, so you can see some of the recipes there. Anyway, my family decided that it was time to put the cookbook to use, and so after we bought all of the equipment we chose to make caramelized carrot soup. It took a while to make, but it was definitely worth it. It was DELICIOUS! My whole family loved it, even my dad, who hates carrots! We also made some other dishes, such as ketchup chicken, which sounds weird but is actually quite good, and crispy broccoli with Parmesan and onions. It was a meal fit for a king (or as I should say, a very hungry family!)  The links for the recipes and the Modernist Cuisine website are below. Bon appetit!

modernistcuisine.com

http://www.nytimes.com/2004/05/12/dining/the-minimalist-a-condiment-gets-to-shine.html

http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/roasted-broccoli-onions-00100000064464/index.html

http://modernistcuisine.com/recipes/caramelized-carrot-soup/

Cooking tips: For the soup, I recommend adding some coconut cream, as it makes it sweeter. For the broccoli, add Panko crumbs for an extra crunch and chili flakes to taste. For the ketchup chicken, add extra cayenne (for a little kick), more garlic, and cilantro at the end.

From this:

:Image

To this:

:Image

To this.

Image

About Vinchilla

I am a tween who LOVES food, and you can see all of my eating adventures on this blog.

2 responses »

  1. Wow, what a thoughtful and well-written blog post! Your descriptions of these tasty recipes made me eager to get in the kitchen and start cooking. I think I’ll try ketchup chicken first! P.S. Your photos add a nice touch to this post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

